What’s Been Going On? (Feb. 4th Update)

明けましておめでとうございます〜
Happy New Year!

Even though it’s been a month….

I’m really sorry about that! Asides from being able to see my mom and cousin during winter and New Year’s break, winter has not been good to me. Here’s what’s been going on:

1. Cold/Flu Season/Allergy Season

The masks are out! I’m seeing them everywhere. A lot of my students are getting sick and apparently there’s a spread of influenza going around… I’ve actually been sick since early December. It started off with a fever, then it went to persistent coughing, to a short period of time where I felt 100% better, then back to coughing, and then till recently, congestion and cough… I rarely got sick back home in Minnesota, so this whole sickness caught me completely off-guard, especially the fever because I can’t remember the last time I had anything above 98 degrees F. I’ve been doing everything from hot drinks to lots of Vitamin C and lots of rest… and it’s been helping!

I didn’t think I would hate winter in Japan since the cold doesn’t compare to back home, but I’m wondering if I’m starting to hate it just because of cold season…

Trevor has also been struggling too and we came to realize that Hay Fever is a great possibility. Hopefully it’ll get better…

As for me, it’s February now, and I think I’m better! Hopefully it stays that way. Can’t say the same for a lot of my students though… haha </3

DSC_0226

I had to stay home from work a couple of days, and Trevor took care of me by making homemade chicken noodle soup. We also had some cheese bread that was made with fresh ricotta cheese. My Vice Principal was very kind since he bought me bread and vegetable juice to help me feel better. ほんまに喜んでた。

2. My mom and cousin came to visit!! 😀

I was soooooo happy to see my mom again! I’ve only been in Japan for maybe 6 months, and somehow it felt amazing to see her again! My mom and cousin being in Japan gave Trevor and I opportunities to bring them to places that we ourselves have never been to. Here is a breakdown of the places we’ve brought them:

  • Nara City (Nara)
    • Nara Park; Todaiji; Nigatsudou; Sanjonmachi; Owl Cafe
  • Osaka City (Osaka)
    • Namba and Dotonbori
  • Shingu City (Wakayama)
  • Nachikatsuura (Wakayama)
    • Nachi Falls and Kumano Nachi Taisha
  • Asuka Village (Nara)
    • Asukadera
  • Kashihara City (Nara)
  • Totsukawa Village (Nara)
    • Tamaki Shrine and Hotel Subaru Onsen
  • Shirahama Town (Wakayama)
    • Adventure World (amaaaaaazing!!); Engetsu Island; Senjojiki; White Promenade Illuminations
  • Hongu Village (Wakayama)
    • Kumano Hongu Taisha
  • Rinku Town (Osaka)
    • Rinku Premium Outlet Mall

I was so sad that those two weeks went by so quickly- I’m happy that they at least had fun though!

DSC_0280

Teaser from our trip to Shirahama!

**The reason we haven’t put up any pictures yet is because Trevor has been our designated camera man during their stay, and he wants the pictures he took to be a surprise for my mom and cousin. After they left, Trevor has been editing the pictures and we’ve been working together to compose everything into a nice book for my mom- something memorable and a little more organized than just developing a bunch of unorganized photos haha.

3. I re-contracted for a 2nd year as an ALT!

I guess this one is a no-brainer, just felt nice to sign everything and make it official.

144

4. We saw Star Wars: The Force Awakens! Twice!

An absolutely amazing movie, I’ve honestly never watched anything that was so memorable that it made me want to go see it again. BB-8 is my favorite, soooo cute.

Now to wait till 2017 for the next movie!! Come faster?!

5. We spent our first Christmas in Japan

Though it wasn’t eventful, we were just happy being at home and spending time skyping with our families. We put up a cute Christmas tree that was left by my predecessor and we made a gingerbread house courtesy of Trevor’s mom.

Trevor got me some plushies and a book that is really fun and interesting to read! Maybe I’ll do a review of it when I’m done reading it. 😀

DSC_0262.JPG

Rice, Noodle, Fish: Deep Travels Through Japan’s Food Culture. By: Matt Goulding. Matt talks about different parts of Japan and his food experiences. So far I have finished the sections on Tokyo and am almost done with the section on Osaka. There are more areas he discusses in his book, such as Fukuoka and Hokkaido. It’s a very good read so far!

I also got Trevor a wallet and a sweet BB-8 coin. 🙂

DSC_0263

Okay, the wallet is actually a card case. But who says you can’t use it for keeping your money and cards safe?


I’m happy that I’ve been kept busy at work, but this blog is sadly sometimes forgotten among the work that piles up… I’ll be trying to do my best though!

-Sara

 

One thought on “What’s Been Going On? (Feb. 4th Update)

Leave a Reply

