My First Semester of Flower Arranging (Spring-Summer 2016)

Back in April, which is the start of the school year in Japan, I decided that I wanted to join my high school’s flower arrangement club. I figured, I wanted to somehow get a little more involved with my school while also discovering a new interest- I can honestly say that joining the flower arrangement club has been one of the best things I have done yet during my time here in Japan. I didn’t think I would have so much fun manipulating a plant’s shape and making something that was aesthetically pleasing to the eye. It’s something that I look forward to every Friday afternoon, and is the perfect way to start off my weekends.

Since it was my first time ever doing flower arrangement, most of the time I had no idea what I was doing. Luckily, my flower arrangement teacher would always swoop in and add some final touches to make the piece look complete.

So here are some of the pieces that I worked on last semester. We started off with a spring theme and worked our way towards summer-like plants.

When this current semester ends, I’ll be posting up my autumn pieces!

edited-first-work

This one is actually much taller than what is shown in the picture; because my flowers were in front of the teacher’s schedule, I thought it would be best to cut it off. (Privacy reasons) Since this was my very first piece and we were told we could do whatever we wanted, can you tell I had no clue what I was doing? LOL

dsc_0406

Am I getting the hang of it yet?? Haha. We used flowers and plants that remind me of April weather! So pretty.

dsc_0423

The theme of this one… circles. lol

dsc_0426

The pineapple is real. You can eat it, but it’s probably best not to, my flower arrangement teacher advised.

dsc_0429

Apparently the vase I chose for this piece makes it represent more winter than summer! My teacher says if the water is blocked off, it symbolizes winter, whereas open and spacious room to see the water represents summer.

dsc_0435

We had to follow strict rules and measurements for this piece. Not my personal favorite, but it still turned out pretty nice, huh?

dsc_0438

Last piece of first semester! Looking at these flowers made me think of the rainy season that was soon to come.

Leave a Reply

