Sailor Moon Cafe 2017 at DELASOUL CHARBON

Are you nostalgic for 90’s anime classics like Cardcaptors, Cowboy Bebop, Yu Yu Hakusho, or Sailor Moon like I am? I’m not afraid to admit that these were the series that I thrived on growing up. Those titles will always hold a special place in my heart- they are the classics that made my childhood!!

Which is why, like with the Cardcaptor Sakura cafe I visited with Trevor last year in August, I knew I had to try and visit the Sailor Moon Cafe in Osaka at some point before it closes.

The Sailor Moon Cafe is currently open in four locations across Japan and are only open during these set dates:

  • Tokyo: September 22, 2017 – October 29th, 2017
  • Osaka: September 28th, 2017 – November 5th, 2017
  • Nagoya: September 29th, 2017 – November 5th, 2017
  • Fukuoka (NEW): November 1st, 2017 – December 3rd, 2017

So, the Sailor Moon Cafe isn’t actually a stand-alone cafe; a restaurant actually holds the event during the time frame. Basically, each city’s Sailor Moon Cafe will be held at a venue different from the others. The one in Osaka is held at DELASOUL CHARBON, located in Tennoji, Osaka in the Abeno Q’s mall on the 4th floor outdoor dining area. (It’s a short walk from JR Tennoji Station)

 

The Osaka location absolutely requires you to make a reservation in order to dine at the Sailor Moon Cafe. (Trevor and I weren’t aware of this… this is only our third themed cafe we’ve been to and we didn’t have any problems before) They highly recommend that you reserve online. (If you do that, you’ll also get a free poster!) On the official website, it looks like there are seven time slots in a day that one can reserve a time for. Maybe it was out of pity for us clueless gaijin, but one of the waitresses was able to fit us in for the 8:00pm – 9:20pm slot, given if that slot wasn’t already full. Fortunately, we were able to enter!

 

DSC_0528

I’m sure you’re aware of this, but themed restaurants are expensive. Prices range from the cheapest item (a smoothie) being ¥ 990, to a ¥ 1,690 dinner set. Obviously, you must order at least one item. And if you’re planning on bringing a friend or two, they too must also order something.

So what did Trevor and I order?

For Trevor, I ordered for him the Legendary Holy Grail! Rainbow Moon Chalice Parfait.

DSC_0566

And for myself, I decided on Sailor Mars’ Burning Mandala Anmitsu. (Sailor Mars is my absolute favorite Sailor Senshi <3)

DSC_0565

The parfait consisted of a fruit-flavored jelly dome. Underneath was orange-flavored ice cream, layered with some cake pieces and finishing off with some granola at the bottom of the chalice. There were lots of whipped cream dollops for Trevor to try and eat or pass off to me (he doesn’t like whipped cream LOL) and the wing and crown decorations were edible.

The dessert I got for myself was an anmitsu. Anmitsu is a kind of wagashi (traditional Japanese dessert) that consists of cubes of agar jelly, red bean paste (meeehhh), and assorted pieces of fruit like strawberries and mandarin oranges. I thought this fit perfectly with a character like Sailor Mars. (In the series, Sailor Mars’ civilian form Rei Hino is a Shinto Priestess- her attacks as Sailor Mars also reflect Shintoism) In addition to the anmitsu components, there was also a scoop of vanilla ice cream, (making it cream anmitsu) and it was topped off with charred marshmallows (yum!) and edible decorations and a sigil cookie. Asides from the red bean paste (hehe), I thought it was delicious!

DSC_0559

The place mats are also free to take home!

DSC_0546

And of course… there is a gift shop.

DSC_0570

For additional information, take a look at their official page: This one leads to the Osaka site info

I had a great time! To be honest, it didn’t really feel as themed as the Cardcaptor Sakura cafe, but it was still an awesome experience. And if you use to watch Sailor Moon and still love it to this day as much as I do, I recommend that you visit this cafe! Also, big props to Trevor for literally being the only adult guy there to accompany me on the day we went ❤ What a champ ❤

DSC_0549

Leave a comment